December 14, 2009

Update Backlog!

Posted in Blogging tagged , , , , at 12:09 pm by caelesti

Well, it seems dear readers I have been neglecting this blog. I have been posting my reviews elsewhere, on my Goodreads account, and on Visual Bookshelf on Facebook. But I have forgotten about this blog!  If you have a Goodreads account or would like to create one you can follow my reviews there, its the place that I update the most.  So I will be posting the books I have reviewed since then up here. But I have a lot more to say about  book-related events in my Twin Cities, Minnesota metro area, upcoming releases & comparisons to book-related movies and other things that are not reviews. My original intent for this blog was for it to be about my hobbies in general, including crafts & genealogy so I will also consider if I still want to do that. Even if I do, it will still probably mostly be about books!

One change I would like to make would be to post pictures & links for each book, so you can click on a book that interests you and go to Amazon, Barnes & Noble or another site to learn more, and possibly buy it.  However, I would like to encourage you to support your independent bookstore, as many of them have been going out of business due to competition with these corporations. Keeping mom & pop stores alive helps your local economy and adds unique character to the place you live in. I will be thinking about how to solve this problem. In the meantime, you can still go to Indie Bound (formerly BookSense- I hadn’t realized they’d change their name til I just checked it today!) to find your closest independent bookstore.   Also,  try your local library. The price is right! And if they don’t have what you’re looking for, talk to a librarian about inter-library loan.

 

//

Leave a Reply

